Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


July 28, 2017
Press Release

Washington – Today, Congressman David E. Price (NC-04) introduced the We the People Act of 2017 (H.R. 3537), legislation that would address a series of fundamental problems facing our democracy and help restore integrity, accountability, and transparency to our political system. This legislation is part of a bicameral effort—led by Rep. Price and Senator Tom Udall (D-NM) in the Senate—to improve campaign finance and ethics in government.

"Our most deeply-held democratic values are under threat. This legislation offers common-sense reforms that would put regular citizens ahead of special interests and ensure that federal representatives--including the President--remain accountable to the people who elect them," said Congressman Price. "I look forward to working with Senator Udall and other colleagues to advance these proposals to truly 'drain the swamp' and restore transparency and accountability in government."

The We the People Act includes proposals to comprehensively reform campaign finance laws, restrict gerrymandering through nonpartisan redistricting commissions, increase the number of eligible voters who vote by allowing same day registration, strengthen lobbying laws, and address integrity and transparency problems in the Executive Branch. A summary of its provisions is attached.

This legislation builds on earlier legislation introduced in in 2016 by Representative Price and Senator Udall and will serve as a model to help educate the American people on effective solutions to major structural problems facing our democracy. The bill provides a number of reform solutions that can be used in state and local legislative reform efforts.

H.R. 3537 is supported by The Brennan Center for Justice; Common Cause; Democracy 21; the League of Women Voters; People For the American Way; and Public Citizen; and by Norman Eisen, chief White House ethics lawyer for Barack Obama (2009-2011), and Richard Painter, chief White House ethics lawyer for President George W. Bush (2005-2007).

A summary of the We the People Act is available here. The full text of the bill is available here