Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Talking Points Memo - Congressional Gun Violence Task Force Announces Vice Chairs

January 4, 2013
In The News

By Igor Bobic

Rep. Mike Thompson (D-CA), who chairs the Democratic congressional Gun Violence Prevention Task Force organized in the wake of the Newtown, Conn. school shooting, announced on Friday 12 vice chairs who will also serve on the body.

"Our vice chairs have a wide range of expertise, come from different backgrounds representing all corners of the House Democratic Caucus, and will bring unique ideas to the table as we work to reduce and prevent gun violence while also protecting the rights of law-abiding individuals without a history of dangerous mental illness to own legitimate firearms for legitimate purposes," Thompson said in a statement.

The vice chairs include:

Rep. Ron Barber (AZ)

Rep. John D. Dingell (MI)

Rep. Bill Enyart (IL)

Rep. Elizabeth Esty (CT)

Rep. Chaka Fattah (PA)

Rep. Carolyn McCarthy (NY)

Rep. Grace Napolitano (CA)

Rep. Ed Perlmutter (CO)

Rep. David Price (NC)

Rep. Bobby Scott (VA)

Rep. Jackie Speier (CA)

Rep. Bennie Thompson (MS)